Chrobok King at Kansas, But Eckrich Earns Champion’s Crown

Photo Credit: MC² Editing Services

PGRL Ironman and literal iron man Michael Chrobok returned to Pretty Good Victory Lane for the first time since his January injury, edging out Mike Rasimas and Scott Eckrich to win the Julesburg Farms 200.

While Rasimas played the pit strategy card to perfection — trapping the whole field a lap down before a timely yellow — his #68 Toyota could not keep the #72 Ford of Chrobok at bay. Chrobok, who started 12th, used tire conservation to his advantage to claim his first checkered flag of 2023.

It was not enough to steal the championship, however, with the title going to Scott Eckrich for the second time in PGRL history. Eckrich’s final margin was 38 markers over Chrobok and 75 over Jake Silvia, with early season front-runner Vincent Crow settling for a disappointing 4th, 78 points back.

Season 4 award recipients included:

  • Scott Eckrich: MC² Editing Services Leading the Way Award (352 laps led)
  • Clarence Bonner: Mahan Speed Laboratories You Finished Last Pole Award (2 poles)
  • Woody Mahan: Hard Luck Award (Net 148 positions lost)
  • Michael Chrobok: Hard Charger Award (Net 126 positions gained); Safe Driver Award (0.02 incidents per lap); Ironman Award (2,146.90 miles completed)

PGRL kicks off its 5th season on May 23rd with the Alliance RV 200 at Darlington. Tune in to the Virtual Grip Network LIVE at 8:50pm Tuesday to catch all the pretty good action from the Lady in Black!

Race Results | Series Standings | VGN Race Recap

Full Race Replay: